A day under the Strings

Kia Ora, dear viewers!

On the 27th of April, our syndicate Te Waka Ako seniors were under the trenches. We weren’t actually in the trenches we were under strings all day on our hands and knees! The teachers stayed up all night after school on Wednesday using tape to stick the string up, on stuff.

When I arrived at school on Thursday I was so confused the blinds were down and there was a sign that said “the war had been declared, report to Manukau at 9:00”

The day started and we went inside the classrooms when the bell rang, well we thought we would go in the classroom. We actually had to stay outside and practice marching! It was fun and then we got in to three lines my line went back into the classroom. When we were going back into the classroom, you would not believe me. someone was dong push ups out side, they were in one of the other lines, I think they got caught talking.

When we got inside there was a list of things to get on the TV. We all rushed into our classes (on our hands on knees) we had to get our math’s book,pencil and glue stick. I just went to my box grabbed my pencil case and found my math book, then I found a spot under the table to sit. There was a piece of paper there I didn’t read it tho. Isabella and Leeya arrived with their kit (that is what we call out stuff in the war). We carried on the day and it ended up well it was really fun.

3 thoughts on “A day under the Strings

  1. Kia ora I’m Leeya at waikowhai primary school. I really like how you put in “the war had been declared, report to Manukau at 9:00” Next time you can improve on adding what feelings you felt through the day. I also liked where you put someone who was doing push ups outside, they were in one of the other lines, I think they got caught talking. One thing is you spelt, doing and outside wrong you might have to work on the words.

  2. Talofa Eliza, what a catchy title ‘A day under the strings’. Until I read your post and saw the photo I wasn’t sure what to expect. The day sounds like a real learning experience because until you have lived in the dirt and with the sounds of war it is hard to understand. We are luckier than most here in NZ. Previously I have covered desks in old smelly blankets and students have had to crawl through ‘tunnels’ as if they were the dugouts from war and people wanted to keep heads in place. I look forward to reading your next learning post.
    Tanya Mundy
    Ako Hiko EPL

  3. Fakaalofa lahi atu Eliza, It looked like you guys had so much fun under the strings I can’t believe your teacher stayed up all night after school to hang up strings, I wonder what your guys faces looked like when you saw the strings hanging Have a nice day, Graziel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *